We've provided a list of recommended resources that relate to the study of Scripture and it's application, particularly in relation to working through different questions and issues as they relate to faith integration and one's academic discipline. Below you will find short descriptions of some of the different kinds of resources that can be utilized and how they ought to be used.
Bible commentaries go through a particular book of the Bible in order by verse, and the author (usually a Biblical studies scholar) "comments" on the verses. Commentaries provide analysis of the Biblical text, though some are more detailed than others. Below, you'll see an excerpt from the Word Biblical Commentary (one of the more analytical commentaries) on a passage in Exodus.
Commentaries are books that explain scripture by generally looking at areas such as authorship and audience, historical or cultural context, and provide word studies from the original languages (mostly Hebrew and Greek) to enable the reader to have a better understanding of what the studied text meant during the time it was written.
Not all commentaries are created equal! There are three main types of commentaries:
1. Exegetical or Critical - These commentaries are typically the most academic and will comment specifically on word usage in the original language. Often the commentator will translate the text and comment upon their translation. Examples include the International Critical Commentary, the Word Biblical Commentary, and the New International Greek New Testament Commentary.
2. Popular or Devotional Commentary – These commentaries presume the reader will be working in English and often includes applications or helps in understanding the passages. Examples include The NIV Application Commentary and the Life Application Bible Commentary.
3. Pastoral or Preaching Commentary – These are designed primarily for pastors and serve as an intermediary between the first two – generally there is some exegetical study but also practical application which might be shared in a sermon. Examples include The Pulpit Commentary and Baker’s New Testament Commentary.
Commentaries are also often produced by a denomination or represent broadly a denominational tradition
Anchor Bible Dictionary
by
Word Biblical Commentary
Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture
Sacra Pagina
The dictionaries in this list are types of Bible dictionaries that focus on particular sections of Scripture. Look up people, places, themes, etc that you would find in the particular parts of the Bible. There are some background commentaries listed, too - look up a particular Bible passage, and discover context-specific information that will help you understand the passage.
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch
by
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books
by
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets
by
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings
by
Dictionary of New Testament Background
by
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels
by
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters
by
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments
by
The IVP Dictionary of the New Testament; a one-volume compendium of contemporary biblical scholarship
by
The IVP Bible Background Commentary: Old Testament
by
The IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament
by
